Certified Medical Magazine by WMA, ACSA, HON
Reasons for donating? Can I consider myself (or any egg donors) to be empowered?

Reasons for donating? Can I consider myself (or any egg donors) to be empowered?

1. megmuk
    megmuk

Hi all, I am currently a first-year sociology PhD student at UC Berkeley. I have always been very interested in fertility medicine, and in the past year I have started thinking about donating my eggs. Although I know much of the science behind this process, what makes me hesitant to jump ahead is really being scared (perhaps irrationally?), not only for my immediate health and the idea of ‘having a biological child,’ but worrying about any future fertility risks (since I have no children of my own yet). I hoping to learn more about the emotionality of the process and seek insight/support from donors who have gone through the process.

In addition, I am also working on my MA thesis at Berkeley, which is very personally meaningful project, as I potentially will begin the process of donating eggs myself. I want this paper to give voice to egg donors. Through this paper I want to explore donors’ narratives, their perspectives of their contributions not only to families but broader culture, as well as how they see themselves as distinct from perhaps how clinics may frame egg donation. More than anything, I am interested in centering my thesis on the empowerment of egg donors as reproductive agents – as this is how I want to see myself if/when I donate in the coming months. As I continue pursuing my personal desire to donate, I am all the more passionate about learning how I can contribute to a positive, donor-centered narrative.

Are there any donors who would be willing to speak to me about the above topics?

11/15/2017 at 9:21 am
  2. Dear Meghna,

Thanks for posting in our forum! Your project really seems very interesting.