Certified Medical Magazine by WMA, ACSA, HON
IVF warriors… share your embryo transfer symptoms and discuss!

IVF warriors… share your embryo transfer symptoms and discuss!

1. Bavna
    Bavna

Hi, thank you for helping in advance. This is my first attempt at IVF.

I got a 6-day PGD tested embryo transfer on 2/19/16 and due to take first hCG blood test on 2/29/16. Since the transfer, I am having all sorts of symptoms, nothing severe though. I had nausea, watery vaginal discharge, notice a brown blood clot (really small), sore breasts, period like cramping and legs ache. I am taking both estrogen and progesterone, so I am not raising my hopes too much. But just to be realistic, should I take a home pregnancy test in a day or two? Please suggest.

02/24/2016 at 4:32 am
  2. Dear Bavna,

thank you very much for joining this Forum! Well, first of all, the fact that your embryo was PGD tested does not change the potential symptoms after embryo transfer. Secondly, even though it was a 6-day embryo, my advice is that you wait up until day 10 post embryo transfer, which is to say, on 2/29/16—just 10 days after. This way you can get a more accurate result; otherwise you may get a false negative result.

As for the symptoms you are experiencing, there is no reason to be concerned; in fact, they are the common symptoms after an embryo transfer. Breast soreness, nausea, vaginal discharge, cramping like period… Most women experience exactly those symptoms after the transfer, without it meaning that every woman has to notice something after the ET—some women just don’t have symptoms, and it doesn’t indicate that their cycle has been unsuccessful.