Was ist eine IMSI? Indikationen, Vor- und Nachteile

durch (gynäkologin), (embryologe), (gynäkologe), (embryologin) Und (invitra staff).
Aktualisiert am 25/09/2019

IMSI ist eine verbesserte Technik, die auf der Injektion von intrazytoplasmatischem Sperma basiert, auch bekannt als ICSI.

Heute ermöglicht die IMSI eine In-vitro-Fertilisation mit einer morphologischen Selektion der Spermien, bevor sie in die Eizelle eingebracht werden.

Diese neuartige Technik bietet Vorteile bei Teratozoospermie, wenn die meisten Spermien eine abnormale Form aufweisen.

Was ist IMSI?

Die Entwicklung von Techniken der assistierten Reproduktion hat in den letzten Jahren zugenommen, so dass neue Techniken eingeführt wurden, um den Erfolg dieser Art von Behandlung zu verbessern.

Die IMSI oder Super-ICSI ist eine dieser neuen Technologien, die eine Superlinse im Elektronenmikroskop beinhaltet, die es ermöglicht, Spermien mit einer noch größeren Auflösung zu sehen. Genauer gesagt bietet das IMSI eine mehr als 6.000fache Vergrößerung im Vergleich zum traditionellen ICSI, das eine maximale Vergrößerung von 400x aufweist.

Das Wort IMSI steht für Intracytoplasmatisch Morphologisch Selektierte Spermieninjektion.

Die IMSI ermöglicht es, die gesamte Struktur der Spermien im Detail zu sehen und festzustellen, ob es Defekte in Kopf, Schwanz oder Zwischenstück gibt.

Nach Angaben der Weltgesundheitsorganisation (WHO) sollte ein Spermatozoon mit ausgezeichneter Morphologie folgende Eigenschaften aufweisen:

  • Ovaler Kopf
  • Gerader Schwanz
  • Festkern
  • Transparente Farbe

Darüber hinaus muss beim Sperma das Akrosom intakt sein und keine Vakuolen im Inneren aufweisen.

Die derzeit am weitesten verbreitete Technik bei der In-vitro-Fertilisation (IVF) ist ICSI. Besonders bei schwerem männlichem Faktor, wenn beim Mann wenig Spermien vorhanden und diese langsam sind sowie eine schlechte Morphologie aufweisen.

Die ICSI-Technik weist jedoch eine gewisse Subjektivität auf, da jeder Spezialist die Spermien nach seinen eigenen Kriterien bei der Beobachtung von Kopf, Schwanz und Mittelstück auswählt.

Dank der Einführung von IMSI und der Verbesserung des Verfahrens zur Analyse und Auswahl der Spermien konnte die Schwangerschaftsrate bei männlicher Unfruchtbarkeit erhöht werden.

Bei der Auswahl der besten Spermienmorphologie für die Befruchtung werden all jene Spermien, die zwar die Fähigkeit zur Befruchtung hatten, aber ihre schlechte Morphologie mit Implantationsfehlern verbunden ist und ein größeres Risiko für spontane Abtreibungen haben, verworfen.

Indikationen

Der männliche Faktor ist eine der häufigsten Ursachen für Unfruchtbarkeit. Zum Beispiel weist ein Mann eine geringe Samenqualität auf, wenn er wenig Sperma im Ejakulat hat, wenn die Spermien sehr langsam sind oder wenn seine Morphologie verändert ist.

Insbesondere wird die dann IMSI empfohlen, wenn der morphologische Parameter verändert ist, die so genannte Teratozoospermie.

Die Auswahl von Spermien mit guter Morphologie führt zu einer Erhöhung der Schwangerschaftsraten bei Patienten mit Unfruchtbarkeitsproblemen.

Darüber hinaus wird die IMSI auch in den folgenden Fällen angezeigt:

  • Befruchtungsfehler mit ICSI
  • Embryonen mit schlechter Qualität, die ihre Entwicklung stoppen
  • Einnistungsfehler
  • Männer mit schwerer Oligoastenotherazoospermie
  • Hohe Fragmentierung der Spermien-DNA
  • Langfristige Sterilität unbekannter Herkunft

Es sei darauf hingewiesen, dass IMSI keine Routinetechnik im Labor ist. Sie wird nur im Einzelfall eingesetzt, da sie sehr teuer ist und nicht immer Vorteile bietet.

Vorteile der IMSI

Der Hauptvorteil der IMSI ist die detaillierte Visualisierung des Spermatozoons, da es bei genau 6.300facher Auflösung zu sehen ist. Das bedeutet, dass das IMSI in Bezug auf sein optisches System 15 mal leistungsfähiger ist als das ICSI.

Darüber hinaus ermöglicht die IMSI die Selektion von lebenden Spermien in Echtzeit. Daher ist es nicht notwendig, spezifische Färbungen zu verwenden, die zu einer Schädigung der männlichen Geschlechtszellen führen können.

Durch die detaillierte Betrachtung des Spermas ist es möglich, all jene auszuschließen, die Defekte im Kopf, Zwischenstück oder Schwanz aufweisen, die mit der DNA-Fragmentierung verbunden sind.

Im Allgemeinen ist es der IMSI-Technik gelungen, die Befruchtungs- und Schwangerschaftsrate zu erhöhen und das Risiko einer Fehlgeburt zu verringern.

Nachteile von IMSI

Trotz der Vorteile, die die IMSI bieten kann, hat diese Technik zwei offensichtliche Nachteile, die ihre weitreichende Verbreitung behindern:

  • Die durchschnittliche zusätzliche Dauer des Eingriffs ist beträchtlich und reicht von 1,5 bis 5 Stunden.
  • Die hohen Kosten bedeuten, dass IMSI nicht in allen IVF-Labors verfügbar ist.

Aus all diesen Gründen ist die IMSI nur dann ratsam, wenn der Spezialist der Meinung ist, dass der Samen von sehr schlechter Qualität ist, sowie bei wiederholten Fällen von IVF- oder ICSI-Fehlern.

Darüber hinaus sind weitere Forschungsarbeiten zu IMSI erforderlich, um die klinische Wirksamkeit nachzuweisen und die Indikationen besser zu definieren.

Fragen die Nutzer stellten

Was sind die Vorteile einer IMSI?

durch Dr. Mark P. Trolice (gynäkologe).

Die Selektion einzelner Spermien unter einem Hochvergrößerungsmikroskop (intrazytoplasmatische Injektion von morphologisch selektiertem Sperma oder IMSI) beinhaltet die Verwendung von scheinbar optimaleren Spermien nach Form (Morphologie) bei Männern mit der schwersten Unfruchtbarkeit.

IMSI wurde für Patienten mit wiederholtem Implantationsdefekt oder spontanen Abtreibungen in Betracht gezogen, da sie der Meinung waren, dass Schwangerschaftsversagen auf einen Spermiendefekt zurückzuführen sei. Neuere Studien haben jedoch dieser Ansicht widersprochen, indem sie gezeigt haben, dass IMSI die Ergebnisse für Männer, die sich mehreren IVF-Zyklen unterziehen, nicht verbessert. (Quelle: Oliveira et al. 2011, Gatimel et al. 2016).

Welcher Unterschied besteht zwischen der IMSI und der klassischen ICSI?

durch Dra. Carmen Ochoa Marieta (gynäkologin).

Beide sind Labortechniken, die darin bestehen, ein Sperma in eine Eizelle zu injizieren. Diese Spermien werden nach morphologischen Kriterien ausgewählt, die unter dem Mikroskop bewertet werden.

In der IMSI hat das Mikroskop 8000fache Vergrößerungen und in der ICSI 400, außerdem liegt der grundlegende Unterschied zwischen beiden Techniken in der spermatischen Selektion auf der Grundlage der Morphologie.

Kann man eine IMSI mit langsamen Spermien durchführen?

durch Zaira Salvador (embryologin).

Ja, es ist möglich, eine IMSI in einer Probe von langsamen Spermien, d.h. mit Asthenozoospermie, durchzuführen, sofern dies aus den bereits genannten Gründen angezeigt ist.

Das Hauptziel der IMSI ist es, die Spermatozoen mit der besten Morphologie auszuwählen. Um diese Spermien mit progressiver Beweglichkeit auszuwählen, genügt die traditionelle ICSI, so dass die IMSI keinen zusätzlichen Nutzen bringen würde.

Wie läuft eine IMSI ab?

durch Zaira Salvador (embryologin).

Die Vorgehensweise bei der Erstellung einer IMSI ist die gleiche wie bei einer ICSI. Das Sperma wird im Labor kapazitiert und in der entsprechenden Konzentration wieder aufbereitet. Die einzige Änderung ist das Mikroskop, mit dem die Spermien morphologisch mit der IMSI ausgewählt werden. Dieses Mikroskop basiert auf der MSOME (Motile Sperma Organelle Morphology Examination) Technologie und ist mit einem digitalen Bildprozessor ausgestattet.

Sobald die Spermien, die den Embryologen interessieren, ausgewählt sind, werden sie auf die ICSI-Platte übertragen und zum konventionellen Mikroinjektor gebracht, um die Eizellen auf die gleiche Weise zu befruchten.

Warum dauert die IMSI so lange?

durch Zaira Salvador (embryologin).

Weil es sich um eine sehr aufwendige Technik handelt und Embryologen dafür hochqualifiziert sein müssen. Manchmal ist es sogar notwendig, dass zwei Embryologen gleichzeitig arbeiten, um weniger Zeit in Anspruch zu nehmen und den Faktor der Subjektivität zu reduzieren.

Darüber hinaus ist es aufgrund von Mikroskopvergrößerungen schwieriger, Spermien im Sichtfeld zu finden, was es zu einer sehr mühsamen Technik macht.

Für Sie empfohlen

Wir haben über die Teratospermie als Hauptindikation für ein Paar gesprochen, um auf die IMSI-Technik zurückzugreifen. Wenn Sie genauer wissen wollen, was diese Pathologie ist, können Sie den folgenden Artikel lesen: Die Teratozoospermie.

Nach Angaben der WHO ist das Seminogramm das objektivste Instrument zur Beurteilung der männlichen Fruchtbarkeit, da wir damit Probleme in der Hodenfunktion erkennen können. Mehr dazu erfahren Sie unter folgendem Link: Was ist das Seminogramm?

ICSI bleibt vorerst die am weitesten verbreitete Technik in IVF-Labors. Die wichtigsten Aspekte dieser Fertilitätsbehandlungen können Sie im folgenden Beitrag erfahren: Was ist ICSI?

Wir legen viel Arbeit in die Redaktion der Artikel. Wenn Sie diesen Artikel teilen, helfen und motivieren Sie uns mit unserer Arbeit.

Literaturverzeichnis

Bartoov B, Berkovitz A, Eltes F, Kogosovsky A, YagodaA, Lederman H, et al. Pregnancy rates are higher with intracytoplasmic morphologically selected sperm injection than with conventional intracytoplasmic injection. Fertility and Sterility 2003;80(6):1413–9. [PUBMED: 14667877]

Berkovitz A, Eltes F, Yaari S, Katz N, Barr I, Fishman A, et al. The morphological normalcy of the sperm nucleus and pregnancy rate of intracytoplasmic injection with morphologically selected sperm.Human Reproduction2005;20(1):185–90. [PUBMED: 15471930]

Berkovitz A, Eltes F, Lederman H, Peer S, Ellenbogen A,Feldberg B, et al. How to improve IVF-ICSI outcome by sperm selection.Reproductive Biomedicine Online2006;12(5):634–8. [PUBMED: 16790113]

Cassuto NG, Hazout A, Benifla JL, Balet R, Larue L, Viot G. Decreasing birth defect in children by using high magnification selected spermatozoon injection. Fertility and Sterility 2011;1:S85.

Oliveira JBA, Cavagna M, Petersen CG, Mauri AL, Massaro FC, Silva LFI, et al. Pregnancy outcomes in women with repeated implantation failures after intracytoplasmic morphologically selected sperm injection(IMSI).Reproductive Biology and Endocrinology2011;9:99.[PUBMED: 21781299]

Teixeira DM, Barbosa MAP, Ferriani RA, Navarro PA, Raine-Fenning N, Nastri CO, Martins WP.Regular (ICSI) versus ultra-high magnification (IMSI) sperm selection for assisted reproduction.Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews2013, Issue 7. Art. No.: CD010167.

Fragen die Nutzer stellten: 'Was sind die Vorteile einer IMSI?', 'Welcher Unterschied besteht zwischen der IMSI und der klassischen ICSI?', 'Kann man eine IMSI mit langsamen Spermien durchführen?', 'Wie läuft eine IMSI ab?' Und 'Warum dauert die IMSI so lange?'.

Mehr anschauen

Autoren und Mitwirkende

Dra. Carmen Ochoa Marieta
Dra. Carmen Ochoa Marieta
Gynäkologin
Medizinstudium an der Universität Baskenland, Promotion in Medizin und Chirurgie an der Universität Murcia. Derzeit leitet sie die Abteilung für assistierte Reproduktion im Reproduktionszentrum CER SANTANDER in Santander und die Abteilung für medizinische Diagnostik der Reproduktinsmedizin in Bilbao. Mehr über Dra. Carmen Ochoa Marieta
Zulassungsnummer: 484805626
Dr. José Antonio Sánchez Férez
Dr. José Antonio Sánchez Férez
Embryologe
Abschluss in Biologie an der Universität Murcia. Umfangreiche Erfahrung als Biologe, Embryologe und Forscher. Derzeit klinischer Embryologe am Instituto Murciano de Fertilidad (IMFER). Mehr über Dr. José Antonio Sánchez Férez
Dr. Mark P. Trolice
Dr. Mark P. Trolice
Gynäkologe
Doktor der Medizin, spezialisiert auf Gynäkologie und Geburtshilfe, von der Rutgers Robert Wood Johnson Medical School of New Jersey (USA). Außerordentlicher Professor an der Abteilung für Gynäkologie und Geburtshilfe der University of Central Florida College of Medicine. Direktor der Fertilitätsklinik: The IVF-Center. Titel Bester Arzt in Amerika. Mehr über Dr. Mark P. Trolice
Zulassungsnummer Florida: ME 78893
 Zaira Salvador
Zaira Salvador
Embryologin
Abschluss in Biotechnologie an der Polytechnischen Universität Valencia (UPV) und Spezialistin für assistierte Reproduktion mit Masterabschluss in Human Reproduction Biotechnology am Instituto Valenciano de Infertilidad (IVI) und der Universität Valencia. Mehr über Zaira Salvador
Auf deutsch angepasst von:
 Romina Packan
Romina Packan
inviTRA Staff
Chefredakteurin und Übersetzerin für die deutsche Ausgabe von inviTRA. Mehr über Romina Packan

Alles über assistierte Reproduktion auf unseren Kanälen.

By BSc (embryologist), MD, FACOG, FACS, FACE (reproductive endocrinologist) and BSc, MSc (embryologist).
Last Update: 07/20/2018

Intracytoplasmic Morphologically Selected Sperm Injection (IMSI) is an improved type of ICSI (Intracytoplasmic Sperm Injection), and both techniques are used in IVF cycles to increase the success rates.

Today, the IMSI procedure is used to improve the sperm selection process before it is injected into the egg cell.

This state-of-the-art technique has many benefits for men with teratoozospermia, especially in severe cases where most sperms are abnormally shaped.

IMSI vs. ICSI

The many improvements made in the field of Assisted Reproductive Technology (ART) have allowed improved and innovative techniques to be available for IVF patients, all of them developed to increase the success rates of fertility treatments.

IMSI, also known as Super-ICSI, is one of these cutting-edge technologies, which uses a special lens for the microscope, which enables an increase greater than 6300-fold of spermatozoa. This is a major advantage in comparison with ICSI, in which sperm are selected individually under a microscope at 400x magnification instead of 6000x.

In short, IMSI allows the embryologist to see the structure of spermatozoa in detail, thereby detecting potential abnormalities and defects in the head, middle-piece, and/or tail.

According to the World Health Organization (WHO), for a sperm cell to have an excellent morphology, it must have the following characteristics:

  • Oval head
  • Straight or uncoiled tail
  • Fixed nucleus
  • Transparent color

Moreover, the acrosome must be intact and not contain vacuoles.

Currently, the most widely used technique used in IVF cycles is ICSI, especially in cases of severe male infertility, or when the sperm count, motility, or morphology are affected.

However, ICSI is a subjective technique, as it is the specialist who chooses the sperms following his personal criteria when observing the head, middle-piece, and tail.

Thanks to IMSI and the improvements that it adds to the process of examining and selecting sperms, the pregnancy success rates can improve in cases of male infertility.

When we select the sperms with the best morphology only, we dismiss those with poor morphology, which doesn’t mean that they were unable to fertilize the egg. Poor morphology increases the risk of implantation failure and miscarriage, though.

When is it used?

Severe male infertility is one of the most common causes of male infertility. For example, a man has low sperm quality when the sperm count is poor, the sperms are too slow, or the sperm morphology is abnormal.

As for IMSI in particular, it is indicated when sperm morphology is altered, a disorder that is known as teratozoospermia or teratospermia.

Selecting sperms with a good or normal morphology increases the pregnancy success rates in patients with infertility.

Moreover, IMSI can be used in the following cases as well:

It should be noted that IMSI is not used on a regular basis in IVF labs. It is used in very special cases only, as the cost is considerably high and it does not increase the success rates in all cases.

If you need to undergo IVF to become a mother, we recommend that you generate your Fertility Report now. In 3 simple steps, it will show you a list of clinics that fit your preferences and meet our strict quality criteria. Moreover, you will receive a report via email with useful tips to visit a fertility clinic for the first time.

Benefits of IMSI

The main benefit of IMSI is that it allows for an accurate visualization of sperm cells, that is, an increase greater than 6300-fold of spermatozoa. To sum up, IMSI is 15 times more powerful than conventional microscopes used in IVF/ICSI cycles.

With IMSI, live sperms can be selected in real time. Thanks to it, dye tests that could damage the sperm cells become unnecessary to check sperm quality.

Visualizing the sperms in such detail not only allows us to detect potential head defect, but also in the middle-piece or neck, an the tail. The presence of such defects is associated with sperm DNA fragmentation.

The IMSI technique increases the fertilization and pregnancy rates, whilst decreasing the miscarriage rate.

Disadvantages

In spite of all the advantages that IMSI can add to your fertility treatment, it also has some cons that one should consider, including:

  • It adds a considerable amount of extra time to the IVF procedure: about 1.5 to 5 hours.
  • Due to its elevated cost, it is not available in most IVF laboratories.

For all these reasons, IMSI is used only when sperm quality is too low or in cases of repeated IVF or IVF with ICSI failure.

More research is necessary as regards this technique in order to prove its clinical efficacy and determine the cases when it is actually required more accurately.

FAQs from users

What are the advantages of IMSI?

By Mark P. Trolice MD, FACOG, FACS, FACE (reproductive endocrinologist).

Selection of individual sperm under high magnification microscope, (intracytoplasmic morphologically selected sperm injection or IMSI), involves the uses the apparent most optimal sperm by shape (morphology) in men with the most severe male factor. IMSI has been a consideration in patients with recurrent implantation failure or spontaneous miscarriages (Lo Monte et al. 2013) due to the opinion the pregnancy failures were due to a sperm defect. However, recent studies have opposed this view by showing IMSI does not improve outcomes for men undergoing multiple IVF cycles. (Oliveira et al. 2011, Gatimel et al. 2016).

Is IMSI possible with sluggish sperm?

By Zaira Salvador BSc, MSc (embryologist).

Yes, IMSI is possible with sperm samples that contain sluggish sperm, that is, samples with asthenozoospermia, as long as it is indicated for the reasons explained above.

The main purpose of IMSI is to select the sperm cells with the best morphology only. To select sperms with progressive motility, however, conventional ICSI is the technique of choice.

How does IMSI work?

By Zaira Salvador BSc, MSc (embryologist).

The IMSI procedure is the same as in ICSI cycles. First, the sperm sample is processed in the lab, and the pellet is resuspended at the adequate concentration. The only difference between IMSI and ICSI is the microscope used to select the sperms morphologically with IMSI. This type of microscope is based on the MSOME technology (Motile Sperm Organelle Morphology Examination), which is equipped with a digital imager.

Once the embryologist selects the best sperms, they are transferred to the ICSI plate and taken to a conventional microinjector to fertilize the eggs.

Why does IMSI take too many steps?

By Zaira Salvador BSc, MSc (embryologist).

Because it is a very laborious technique that can be conducted by highly trained professionals only. Oftentimes, it requires two embryologists to work simultaneously in order to reduce the duration of the process and perform it more objectively.

Moreover, due to the use of a more powerful microscope, finding sperm cells under the microscope becomes a tedious task, which turns it into a technically challenging technique.

Suggested for you

We have mentioned teratozoospermia as the main indication for IMSI to be used. To get a much deeper insight on this sperm disorder, we recommend that you visit the following post: What Is Teratozoospermia? – Causes, Pregnancy Rate & Treatment.

According to the WHO, a semen analysis is the most useful tool when it comes to evaluate male fertility, as it is used to detect potential sperm disorders. Learn more about it here: What Is a Semen Analysis Report? – Purpose, Preparation & Cost.

Today, ICSI is the most widely used technique in IVF labs. Get more info by clicking the following link: What Is ICSI Technique? – Process, Success Rates & Cost.

Our editors have made great efforts to create this content for you. By sharing this post, you are helping us to keep ourselves motivated to work even harder.

References

Bartoov B, Berkovitz A, Eltes F, Kogosovsky A, YagodaA, Lederman H, et al. Pregnancy rates are higher with intracytoplasmic morphologically selected sperm injection than with conventional intracytoplasmic injection. Fertility and Sterility 2003;80(6):1413–9. [PUBMED: 14667877]

Berkovitz A, Eltes F, Yaari S, Katz N, Barr I, Fishman A, et al. The morphological normalcy of the sperm nucleus and pregnancy rate of intracytoplasmic injection with morphologically selected sperm.Human Reproduction2005;20(1):185–90. [PUBMED: 15471930]

Berkovitz A, Eltes F, Lederman H, Peer S, Ellenbogen A,Feldberg B, et al. How to improve IVF-ICSI outcome by sperm selection.Reproductive Biomedicine Online2006;12(5):634–8. [PUBMED: 16790113]

Cassuto NG, Hazout A, Benifla JL, Balet R, Larue L, Viot G. Decreasing birth defect in children by using high magnification selected spermatozoon injection. Fertility and Sterility 2011;1:S85.

Oliveira JBA, Cavagna M, Petersen CG, Mauri AL, Massaro FC, Silva LFI, et al. Pregnancy outcomes in women with repeated implantation failures after intracytoplasmic morphologically selected sperm injection(IMSI).Reproductive Biology and Endocrinology2011;9:99.[PUBMED: 21781299]

Teixeira DM, Barbosa MAP, Ferriani RA, Navarro PA, Raine-Fenning N, Nastri CO, Martins WP.Regular (ICSI) versus ultra-high magnification (IMSI) sperm selection for assisted reproduction.Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews2013, Issue 7. Art. No.: CD010167.

Read more

Authors and contributors

 José Antonio Sánchez Férez
José Antonio Sánchez Férez
BSc
Embryologist
Bachelor's Degree in Biology from the University of Murcia. Vast experience as an embryologist, biologist, and researcher. Currently, he works as a Clinical Embryologist at Instituto Murciano de Fertilidad (IMFER). More information about José Antonio Sánchez Férez
 Mark P. Trolice
Mark P. Trolice
MD, FACOG, FACS, FACE
Reproductive Endocrinologist
Mark P. Trolice is the Director of Fertility CARE – The IVF Center and Clinical Associate Professor in the Department of Obstetrics & Gynecology (OB/GYN) at the University of Central Florida College of Medicine. He is Board-certified in REI and OB/GYN, and maintains annual recertification. His colleagues select him as Top Doctor in America® annually, one among the top 5% of doctors in the U.S. More information about Mark P. Trolice
License: ME 78893
 Zaira Salvador
Zaira Salvador
BSc, MSc
Embryologist
Bachelor's Degree in Biotechnology from the Technical University of Valencia (UPV). Biotechnology Degree from the National University of Ireland en Galway (NUIG) and embryologist specializing in Assisted Reproduction, with a Master's Degree in Biotechnology of Human Reproduction from the University of Valencia (UV) and the Valencian Infertility Institute (IVI) More information about Zaira Salvador
License: 3185-CV

Find the latest news on assisted reproduction in our channels.