Certified Medical Magazine by WMA, ACSA, HON
Structure of the sperm head

Structure of the sperm head

As one shall see, sperm cells are comprised of three parts: the head, the middle-piece, and the tail

In this picture, we can see that the head contains three main parts: the acrosome, the nucleus and the cell membrane.

The acrosome contains digestive enzymes, which function is to break down the outer layer of the egg cell (i.e. zona pellucida) to allow the sperm cells to penetrate and join the nucleus of the ovum.

By (gynecologist), (embryologist) and (biochemist).
Last Update: 11/02/2017