Certified Medical Magazine by WMA, ACSA, HON
What are the degrees of endometriosis?

What are the degrees of endometriosis?

Endometriosis is a uterine disorder characterised by the presence of endometrial tissue outside the uterus. It usually appears in the ovaries and fallopian tubes, but can also occur in other locations. Depending on its severity, endometriosis is classified into 4 grades:

Grade I or minimal endometriosis
is the presence of small, isolated endometrial implants
Grade II or mild endometriosis
There are more endometrial cysts than in grade I, but it is still mild.
Grade III or moderate endometriosis
is endometriosis in which the endometrial tissue begins to expand further and even some adhesions appear on the ovaries.
Grade IV or severe endometriosis
is the most complicated endometriosis and, therefore, the woman will have problems conceiving.

Depending on the type of endometriosis diagnosed, the specialist will establish the best form of treatment for the woman. Sometimes only painkillers, hormone treatment, surgery or cyst removal is needed to achieve pregnancy naturally. In other cases, it will be necessary to resort to assisted reproduction.

By (gynecologist), (gynecologist), (embryologist) and (embryologist).
Last Update: 08/18/2021